Ben’s Communications at age 15–1977, By: Carole Norman Scott


73570016

I was sorting through some “stuff” last night, and came across these communications that our autistic son, Ben, shared with us at age 15.  We didn’t think at the time that he talked very much, but in reading these comments he made, he talked a LOT compared to what he does now as an adult who has suffered Grand Mal seizures.  He now stutters when he tries to talk, so just does not try as often.  However, he is alway listening to what is being said, and is taking it all in.  It amazes me how much he knew…even as a child, but was not able to communicate it to us.  Here’s what I found:

1. My husband used to have a pilot’s license and we were able to fly Ben back and forth from home to his Living Facility.  When we got in the plane, I said, “Ben we are going to fly up in the sky…up in the clouds.”  He quickly said, “Superman!”

2. Ben came up to me and said, “Good boy in church.”  I said, “You sure are Ben.  You are a REAL good boy in church.”  He then said, “Good boy at the concert, good boy at the barber shop.”  It was as if he was trying to remind me of all the times he had stayed calm and behaved so well so that he could stay at home.  That communication was a FIRST though.  I sure wish he could have stayed home, and it made me sad that he might have been thinking that way.

3. Ben was sitting on the divan with me …looking at his Dad, and he said, “Daddy,” and I said, “Yes, good old Daddy.”  Ben then said, “Good old mommy, good old Ben, good old John (brother), good old Maureen (sister), and good old Doug (don’t know how he got in there, he was our next-door neighbor at the time who was and still is very kind to Ben).

4. When Ben went to bed, he told his dad good-night, and then said, “Hit the sack”–something only his dad says to him.

I now miss the those little things he used to say, and the sound of his voice…but he is still a mighty loving “quiet” force when he’s home, and I know that in Heaven…we’ll be able to have some WONDERFUL conversations!  Thank you Lord!

About autism45.wordpress.com

I am the mother of a fifty-four year old autistic son, and am happy to be an nineteen year Non-Hodgkin's Lymphoma survivor. My blogs (autism45, lymphomainsights.com, Pictures & Poems to God's Glory, and stubbornlymphoma.wordpress.com) contain journals, poems, pictures, photography, letters, and other writings and insights pertaining to autism and lymphoma, and the spiritual growth we (my husband and I) have experienced from all. I hope you'll visit all four blogs. Enjoy the pictures I've taken and the poems I've written too!
This entry was posted in autism, communication, family interaction, Grand Mal Seizure, knowledge w/o communication, siblings of autistic and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

